Start free
new

Revenue from Stripe Payment Links

An optional module that shows which sources and landing pages bring paying customers when you sell with Stripe Payment Links. Still cookie-free.

In every plan, including Free. Goals, events and conversions.

Start free, no cardOpen the demo

Revenue from Stripe Payment Links: example screenshot with made-up demo data
ExampleScreenshot with made-up demo data, not a real customer’s numbers.

What it is

Add /js/revenue.js next to your quietstats tag. On pages with buy.stripe.com links it adds a short source label (channel, source and landing page, such as AI · chatgpt.com · /pricing) to each link as Stripe’s client_reference_id. Stripe sends it back in a webhook when the payment completes, and quietstats adds the amount to that source’s daily total.

Why it matters

Visitors are only half the story. Knowing that ChatGPT brought five sales and a newsletter brought none is what tells you where to spend your time.

How it works

  1. The label says where the visit came from, never who: no visitor ID, cookie or storage, and no customer or email is read from Stripe.
  2. Each site has its own webhook endpoint, verified with that site’s Stripe signing secret, which is stored encrypted.
  3. Repeated webhooks are counted once.
  4. Stripe test mode only for now: live payments are refused until live mode is switched on.
  5. It is optional and separate from the core script, which stays under 1 KB.

Set it up

HTML
<script data-host="https://quietstats.co.uk" data-site="YOUR_SITE_ID" src="https://quietstats.co.uk/js/revenue.js" async defer></script>

Replace YOUR_SITE_ID with the ID on your site’s settings page. Install guides →

Privacy: what is and isn’t collected

Collected

  • Per day and source: number of sales and their total, in the payment currency

Never collected

  • Customer names, emails or card details
  • Order or payment IDs
  • Any visitor ID
  • Cookies, localStorage or anything else stored on the visitor’s device
  • IP addresses or user agents (used in memory, then discarded)
  • Anything that links a visitor across days (the visitor ID resets daily)

How quietstats works, and the legal caveats →

Rows and limits

  • About 1 KB extra, only on pages where you add it
  • Rows: about 3 per sale (one total row, one de-duplication row, one setup row per site)

“Rows” are database rows written, which is what our hosting is billed on. Reads are not rows written. Methodology →

How others do it

How the tools on our compare page handle this, from their own websites and help pages, checked on 28 October 2026. “Not stated” means we could not find it on the pages we checked, not that it doesn’t exist. Plans and prices change, so follow the source links. Plausible, Umami, Matomo all offer this too.

How quietstats and other analytics tools handle revenue from stripe payment links
ToolHas it?HowSource
quietstatsYesAn optional module that shows which sources and landing pages bring paying customers when you sell with Stripe Payment Links. Still cookie-free.Every plan, including FreeThis page
Google Analytics 4Not statedNot stated on the pages we checkedmarketingplatform.google.com (opens in a new tab)
PlausibleYesRevenue goals on custom events, with currency, and a Revenue column in expanded reportsPlan: Businessplausible.io (opens in a new tab)
FathomPartly / different approachEvents can carry a value (_value, in cents) and a currency per event or siteusefathom.com (opens in a new tab)
Simple AnalyticsNot statedNot stated on the pages we checkedsimpleanalytics.com (opens in a new tab)
UmamiYesA Revenue report from events sent with revenue and currency datadocs.umami.is (opens in a new tab)
GoatCounterNot statedNot stated on the pages we checkedgoatcounter.com (opens in a new tab)
MatomoYesGoal conversions and ecommerce orders can carry revenuedeveloper.matomo.org (opens in a new tab)
About these tools: who makes them, pricing, hosting and cookies

Google Analytics 4

Who makes it
Google source: marketingplatform.google.com, opens in a new tab
Open source / self-host
Not offered as open source or for self-hosting on its pages source: marketingplatform.google.com, opens in a new tab
Pricing model
Standard Google Analytics is free; Analytics 360 is the enterprise edition, through sales source: marketingplatform.google.com, opens in a new tab
Where it’s hosted
Google’s own servers source: support.google.com, opens in a new tab
Cookies and consent
Uses first-party cookies by default (_ga lasts 2 years); Consent Mode works with your consent banner source: support.google.com, opens in a new tab
Website
marketingplatform.google.com

Plausible

Who makes it
Plausible Insights, started by Uku Taht in 2018; self-funded source: plausible.io, opens in a new tab
Open source / self-host
Yes: Plausible Community Edition is free, self-hosted and AGPL-licensed source: plausible.io, opens in a new tab
Pricing model
Subscription by monthly pageviews; Starter from $9/month for 10k pageviews; 30-day free trial source: plausible.io, opens in a new tab
Where it’s hosted
Made and hosted in the EU source: plausible.io, opens in a new tab
Cookies and consent
No cookies; says no cookie banner is required source: plausible.io, opens in a new tab
Website
plausible.io

Fathom

Who makes it
Fathom Analytics, run by Jack Ellis; based in Canada and customer-funded source: usefathom.com, opens in a new tab
Open source / self-host
Not stated on the pages we checked source: usefathom.com, opens in a new tab
Pricing model
Subscription by monthly pageviews across all sites, from $15/month for 100,000 pageviews; 7-day free trial; every plan has the same features source: usefathom.com, opens in a new tab
Where it’s hosted
EU visitor data is processed in the EU; a Canadian company source: usefathom.com, opens in a new tab
Cookies and consent
No cookies, no consent banner for analytics source: usefathom.com, opens in a new tab
Website
usefathom.com

Simple Analytics

Who makes it
Simple Analytics B.V., started in 2018 by Adriaan; a three-person, self-funded team in the Netherlands source: simpleanalytics.com, opens in a new tab
Open source / self-host
Not stated on the pages we checked source: simpleanalytics.com, opens in a new tab
Pricing model
Free plan for hobby sites (5 websites, 1 month of history, badge required); paid from $20/month for 100k pageviews; 14-day trial source: simpleanalytics.com, opens in a new tab
Where it’s hosted
EU, primary infrastructure in the Netherlands source: simpleanalytics.com, opens in a new tab
Cookies and consent
No cookies and no personal data source: simpleanalytics.com, opens in a new tab
Website
simpleanalytics.com

Umami

Who makes it
Umami Software, Inc. source: umami.is, opens in a new tab
Open source / self-host
Yes: open source (MIT licence on GitHub); self-host the same platform source: umami.is, opens in a new tab
Pricing model
Hobby $0/month (100K events, 1 website, 6 months of data); Pro $20/month (1 million events, up to 20 websites); Business $200/month source: umami.is, opens in a new tab
Where it’s hosted
Umami Cloud servers in the US and EU, or your own servers source: umami.is, opens in a new tab
Cookies and consent
No cookies; says no cookie banner is required source: umami.is, opens in a new tab
Website
umami.is

GoatCounter

Who makes it
Operated by Martin Tournoij, in Ireland source: goatcounter.com, opens in a new tab
Open source / self-host
Yes: open source, and you can self-host it source: goatcounter.com, opens in a new tab
Pricing model
Free for reasonable public use, supported by donations; self-host for heavier use source: goatcounter.com, opens in a new tab
Where it’s hosted
Hetzner servers in Finland and Germany source: goatcounter.com, opens in a new tab
Cookies and consent
Doesn’t store anything in the browser (no cookies or localStorage) source: goatcounter.com, opens in a new tab
Website
goatcounter.com

Matomo

Who makes it
The Matomo project and team (formerly Piwik) source: matomo.org, opens in a new tab
Open source / self-host
Yes: free software under the GPL; Matomo On-Premise is a free download source: matomo.org, opens in a new tab
Pricing model
On-Premise free; Matomo Cloud priced by monthly hits (shown from 29 per month, excl. tax, for 50,000 hits) with a free trial source: matomo.org, opens in a new tab
Where it’s hosted
Matomo Cloud data is stored in Frankfurt, Germany; On-Premise wherever you host it source: matomo.org, opens in a new tab
Cookies and consent
First-party cookies by default; can be configured to run without cookies (their FAQ explains when consent may still be needed) source: matomo.org, opens in a new tab
Website
matomo.org

Checked on 21 October 2026 from each provider’s official pages. Trademarks belong to their owners; quietstats is not affiliated with any of them.

Questions

Do I need to change my Payment Links?

No. The module adds the label when the page loads.

What about other checkouts?

Send totals from your server with the conversions API.

Is live mode available?

Not yet. Revenue tracking runs in Stripe test mode until live mode is switched on.

Related features

All features → · Sitemap →

Try it on your own site

Free for 5,000 pageviews a month, one site, no card. Paid plans from £5.

Start freeSee pricing