Start free
new

Tagged links count as the right source

A link tagged ?utm_source=chatgpt, ?ref=hn or ?source=linkedin counts as ChatGPT, Hacker News or LinkedIn, even when the browser sends no referrer.

In every plan, including Free. Sources and campaigns.

Start free, no cardOpen the demo

Tagged links count as the right source: example screenshot with made-up demo data
ExampleScreenshot with made-up demo data, not a real customer’s numbers.

What it is

When a visit arrives with no referrer (apps, AI assistants, email clients and many in-app browsers strip it), quietstats reads the utm_source, ref or source tag on the landing link and maps well-known values to the real site: chatgpt becomes chatgpt.com, fb becomes facebook.com, gmail becomes mail.google.com. The visit then lands in the right channel (AI, Social, Search or Email) instead of Direct.

Why it matters

AI assistants and apps often send no referrer, so their visits hide in “Direct”. If you tag the links you share, the tag tells the story the browser would not.

How it works

  1. Only when the referrer is empty: a real referrer always wins.
  2. Over 100 well-known tags are mapped (AI assistants, search engines, social networks, webmail). Unknown tags still show as UTM sources in the Campaigns card.
  3. Done once, on the server, when the visit is counted: no extra script and no extra rows.
  4. Matching ignores case, surrounding spaces, https:// and a leading “www.”.

Set it up

HTML
https://quietstats.co.uk/?utm_source=chatgpt
https://quietstats.co.uk/?ref=hn
https://quietstats.co.uk/?source=linkedin

Replace YOUR_SITE_ID with the ID on your site’s settings page. Install guides →

Privacy: what is and isn’t collected

Collected

  • The tag value on the landing link (already stored as the UTM source)

Never collected

  • Cookies, localStorage or anything else stored on the visitor’s device
  • IP addresses or user agents (used in memory, then discarded)
  • Anything that links a visitor across days (the visitor ID resets daily)

How quietstats works, and the legal caveats →

Rows and limits

  • Rows: 0 extra (it changes how the visit is labelled)
  • Applies to new visits only; older visits keep their label

“Rows” are database rows written, which is what our hosting is billed on. Reads are not rows written. Methodology →

How others do it

How the tools on our compare page handle this, from their own websites and help pages, checked on 28 October 2026. “Not stated” means we could not find it on the pages we checked, not that it doesn’t exist. Plans and prices change, so follow the source links. Plausible offers this too.

How quietstats and other analytics tools handle tagged links count as the right source
ToolHas it?HowSource
quietstatsYesA link tagged ?utm_source=chatgpt, ?ref=hn or ?source=linkedin counts as ChatGPT, Hacker News or LinkedIn, even when the browser sends no referrer.Every plan, including FreeThis page
Google Analytics 4Not statedNot stated on the pages we checkedmarketingplatform.google.com (opens in a new tab)
PlausibleYesReads ref, source and utm_source from links, and groups tags like utm_source=fb with Facebook visitsplausible.io (opens in a new tab)
FathomNot statedNot stated on the pages we checkedusefathom.com (opens in a new tab)
Simple AnalyticsNot statedNot stated on the pages we checkedsimpleanalytics.com (opens in a new tab)
UmamiNot statedNot stated on the pages we checkedumami.is (opens in a new tab)
GoatCounterNot statedNot stated on the pages we checkedgoatcounter.com (opens in a new tab)
MatomoNot statedNot stated on the pages we checkedmatomo.org (opens in a new tab)
About these tools: who makes them, pricing, hosting and cookies

Google Analytics 4

Who makes it
Google source: marketingplatform.google.com, opens in a new tab
Open source / self-host
Not offered as open source or for self-hosting on its pages source: marketingplatform.google.com, opens in a new tab
Pricing model
Standard Google Analytics is free; Analytics 360 is the enterprise edition, through sales source: marketingplatform.google.com, opens in a new tab
Where it’s hosted
Google’s own servers source: support.google.com, opens in a new tab
Cookies and consent
Uses first-party cookies by default (_ga lasts 2 years); Consent Mode works with your consent banner source: support.google.com, opens in a new tab
Website
marketingplatform.google.com

Plausible

Who makes it
Plausible Insights, started by Uku Taht in 2018; self-funded source: plausible.io, opens in a new tab
Open source / self-host
Yes: Plausible Community Edition is free, self-hosted and AGPL-licensed source: plausible.io, opens in a new tab
Pricing model
Subscription by monthly pageviews; Starter from $9/month for 10k pageviews; 30-day free trial source: plausible.io, opens in a new tab
Where it’s hosted
Made and hosted in the EU source: plausible.io, opens in a new tab
Cookies and consent
No cookies; says no cookie banner is required source: plausible.io, opens in a new tab
Website
plausible.io

Fathom

Who makes it
Fathom Analytics, run by Jack Ellis; based in Canada and customer-funded source: usefathom.com, opens in a new tab
Open source / self-host
Not stated on the pages we checked source: usefathom.com, opens in a new tab
Pricing model
Subscription by monthly pageviews across all sites, from $15/month for 100,000 pageviews; 7-day free trial; every plan has the same features source: usefathom.com, opens in a new tab
Where it’s hosted
EU visitor data is processed in the EU; a Canadian company source: usefathom.com, opens in a new tab
Cookies and consent
No cookies, no consent banner for analytics source: usefathom.com, opens in a new tab
Website
usefathom.com

Simple Analytics

Who makes it
Simple Analytics B.V., started in 2018 by Adriaan; a three-person, self-funded team in the Netherlands source: simpleanalytics.com, opens in a new tab
Open source / self-host
Not stated on the pages we checked source: simpleanalytics.com, opens in a new tab
Pricing model
Free plan for hobby sites (5 websites, 1 month of history, badge required); paid from $20/month for 100k pageviews; 14-day trial source: simpleanalytics.com, opens in a new tab
Where it’s hosted
EU, primary infrastructure in the Netherlands source: simpleanalytics.com, opens in a new tab
Cookies and consent
No cookies and no personal data source: simpleanalytics.com, opens in a new tab
Website
simpleanalytics.com

Umami

Who makes it
Umami Software, Inc. source: umami.is, opens in a new tab
Open source / self-host
Yes: open source (MIT licence on GitHub); self-host the same platform source: umami.is, opens in a new tab
Pricing model
Hobby $0/month (100K events, 1 website, 6 months of data); Pro $20/month (1 million events, up to 20 websites); Business $200/month source: umami.is, opens in a new tab
Where it’s hosted
Umami Cloud servers in the US and EU, or your own servers source: umami.is, opens in a new tab
Cookies and consent
No cookies; says no cookie banner is required source: umami.is, opens in a new tab
Website
umami.is

GoatCounter

Who makes it
Operated by Martin Tournoij, in Ireland source: goatcounter.com, opens in a new tab
Open source / self-host
Yes: open source, and you can self-host it source: goatcounter.com, opens in a new tab
Pricing model
Free for reasonable public use, supported by donations; self-host for heavier use source: goatcounter.com, opens in a new tab
Where it’s hosted
Hetzner servers in Finland and Germany source: goatcounter.com, opens in a new tab
Cookies and consent
Doesn’t store anything in the browser (no cookies or localStorage) source: goatcounter.com, opens in a new tab
Website
goatcounter.com

Matomo

Who makes it
The Matomo project and team (formerly Piwik) source: matomo.org, opens in a new tab
Open source / self-host
Yes: free software under the GPL; Matomo On-Premise is a free download source: matomo.org, opens in a new tab
Pricing model
On-Premise free; Matomo Cloud priced by monthly hits (shown from 29 per month, excl. tax, for 50,000 hits) with a free trial source: matomo.org, opens in a new tab
Where it’s hosted
Matomo Cloud data is stored in Frankfurt, Germany; On-Premise wherever you host it source: matomo.org, opens in a new tab
Cookies and consent
First-party cookies by default; can be configured to run without cookies (their FAQ explains when consent may still be needed) source: matomo.org, opens in a new tab
Website
matomo.org

Checked on 21 October 2026 from each provider’s official pages. Trademarks belong to their owners; quietstats is not affiliated with any of them.

Questions

What if the link has a referrer and a tag?

The referrer wins. The tag still shows in the Campaigns card.

Can I add my own mappings?

Not yet. Unknown tags still appear as UTM sources, so nothing is lost.

Related features

All features → · Sitemap →

Try it on your own site

Free for 5,000 pageviews a month, one site, no card. Paid plans from £5.

Start freeSee pricing