Start free

Under 1 KB script and single-page apps

The standard script is 845 bytes minified, about 0.5 KB gzipped, and tracks React, Next.js, Vue and other single-page apps automatically.

In every plan, including Free. Privacy and performance.

Start free, no cardOpen the demo

Under 1 KB script and single-page apps: example screenshot with made-up demo data
ExampleScreenshot with made-up demo data, not a real customer’s numbers.

What it is

One async script tag. It counts a pageview on load and on history changes, and never blocks your page.

Why it matters

Analytics shouldn’t cost your visitors load time. Smaller scripts also mean less to audit.

How it works

  1. Paste the tag before </head>.
  2. Route changes through history.pushState and back/forward are counted.
  3. Sends with sendBeacon so it never holds up navigation.

Set it up

HTML
<script data-host="https://quietstats.co.uk" data-dnt="true" src="https://quietstats.co.uk/js/script.js" id="YOUR_SITE_ID" async defer></script>

Replace YOUR_SITE_ID with the ID on your site’s settings page. Install guides →

Privacy: what is and isn’t collected

Collected

  • See Zero cookies, privacy built in

Never collected

  • Cookies, localStorage or anything else stored on the visitor’s device
  • IP addresses or user agents (used in memory, then discarded)
  • Anything that links a visitor across days (the visitor ID resets daily)

How quietstats works, and the legal caveats →

Rows and limits

  • 845 bytes (script.js); 2,344 bytes for the optional events script

“Rows” are database rows written, which is what our hosting is billed on. Reads are not rows written. Methodology →

How others do it

How the tools on our compare page handle this, from their own websites and help pages, checked on 21 October 2026. “Not stated” means we could not find it on the pages we checked, not that it doesn’t exist. Plans and prices change, so follow the source links. GA4, Umami, GoatCounter, Matomo all offer this too.

Measured script sizes (21 October 2026, uncompressed): quietstats 845 bytes · Plausible 2,841 bytes · Fathom 6,981 bytes · Umami 4,810 bytes · Simple Analytics (light) 3,565 bytes · Simple Analytics (full) 7,515 bytes · GoatCounter 9,213 bytes · Matomo (self-hosted core) 68,294 bytes · Matomo (Matomo Cloud demo) 225,180 bytes · Google Analytics 4 (gtag.js, placeholder ID) 443,306 bytes. See the chart and method →

How quietstats and other analytics tools handle under 1 kb script and single-page apps
ToolHas it?HowSource
quietstatsYesThe standard script is 845 bytes minified, about 0.5 KB gzipped, and tracks React, Next.js, Vue and other single-page apps automatically.Every plan, including FreeThis page
Google Analytics 4YesPage views also fire when the browser history changessupport.google.com (opens in a new tab)
PlausibleNot statedNot stated on the pages we checkedplausible.io (opens in a new tab)
FathomNot statedNot stated on the pages we checkedusefathom.com (opens in a new tab)
Simple AnalyticsNot statedNot stated on the pages we checkedsimpleanalytics.com (opens in a new tab)
UmamiYesTracks SPA navigations automaticallyumami.is (opens in a new tab)
GoatCounterYesA guide for single-page appsgoatcounter.com (opens in a new tab)
MatomoYesSingle-page websites and web appsmatomo.org (opens in a new tab)
About these tools: who makes them, pricing, hosting and cookies

Google Analytics 4

Who makes it
Google source: marketingplatform.google.com, opens in a new tab
Open source / self-host
Not offered as open source or for self-hosting on its pages source: marketingplatform.google.com, opens in a new tab
Pricing model
Standard Google Analytics is free; Analytics 360 is the enterprise edition, through sales source: marketingplatform.google.com, opens in a new tab
Where it’s hosted
Google’s own servers source: support.google.com, opens in a new tab
Cookies and consent
Uses first-party cookies by default (_ga lasts 2 years); Consent Mode works with your consent banner source: support.google.com, opens in a new tab
Website
marketingplatform.google.com

Plausible

Who makes it
Plausible Insights, started by Uku Taht in 2018; self-funded source: plausible.io, opens in a new tab
Open source / self-host
Yes: Plausible Community Edition is free, self-hosted and AGPL-licensed source: plausible.io, opens in a new tab
Pricing model
Subscription by monthly pageviews; Starter from $9/month for 10k pageviews; 30-day free trial source: plausible.io, opens in a new tab
Where it’s hosted
Made and hosted in the EU source: plausible.io, opens in a new tab
Cookies and consent
No cookies; says no cookie banner is required source: plausible.io, opens in a new tab
Website
plausible.io

Fathom

Who makes it
Fathom Analytics, run by Jack Ellis; based in Canada and customer-funded source: usefathom.com, opens in a new tab
Open source / self-host
Not stated on the pages we checked source: usefathom.com, opens in a new tab
Pricing model
Subscription by monthly pageviews across all sites, from $15/month for 100,000 pageviews; 7-day free trial; every plan has the same features source: usefathom.com, opens in a new tab
Where it’s hosted
EU visitor data is processed in the EU; a Canadian company source: usefathom.com, opens in a new tab
Cookies and consent
No cookies, no consent banner for analytics source: usefathom.com, opens in a new tab
Website
usefathom.com

Simple Analytics

Who makes it
Simple Analytics B.V., started in 2018 by Adriaan; a three-person, self-funded team in the Netherlands source: simpleanalytics.com, opens in a new tab
Open source / self-host
Not stated on the pages we checked source: simpleanalytics.com, opens in a new tab
Pricing model
Free plan for hobby sites (5 websites, 1 month of history, badge required); paid from $20/month for 100k pageviews; 14-day trial source: simpleanalytics.com, opens in a new tab
Where it’s hosted
EU, primary infrastructure in the Netherlands source: simpleanalytics.com, opens in a new tab
Cookies and consent
No cookies and no personal data source: simpleanalytics.com, opens in a new tab
Website
simpleanalytics.com

Umami

Who makes it
Umami Software, Inc. source: umami.is, opens in a new tab
Open source / self-host
Yes: open source (MIT licence on GitHub); self-host the same platform source: umami.is, opens in a new tab
Pricing model
Hobby $0/month (100K events, 1 website, 6 months of data); Pro $20/month (1 million events, up to 20 websites); Business $200/month source: umami.is, opens in a new tab
Where it’s hosted
Umami Cloud servers in the US and EU, or your own servers source: umami.is, opens in a new tab
Cookies and consent
No cookies; says no cookie banner is required source: umami.is, opens in a new tab
Website
umami.is

GoatCounter

Who makes it
Operated by Martin Tournoij, in Ireland source: goatcounter.com, opens in a new tab
Open source / self-host
Yes: open source, and you can self-host it source: goatcounter.com, opens in a new tab
Pricing model
Free for reasonable public use, supported by donations; self-host for heavier use source: goatcounter.com, opens in a new tab
Where it’s hosted
Hetzner servers in Finland and Germany source: goatcounter.com, opens in a new tab
Cookies and consent
Doesn’t store anything in the browser (no cookies or localStorage) source: goatcounter.com, opens in a new tab
Website
goatcounter.com

Matomo

Who makes it
The Matomo project and team (formerly Piwik) source: matomo.org, opens in a new tab
Open source / self-host
Yes: free software under the GPL; Matomo On-Premise is a free download source: matomo.org, opens in a new tab
Pricing model
On-Premise free; Matomo Cloud priced by monthly hits (shown from 29 per month, excl. tax, for 50,000 hits) with a free trial source: matomo.org, opens in a new tab
Where it’s hosted
Matomo Cloud data is stored in Frankfurt, Germany; On-Premise wherever you host it source: matomo.org, opens in a new tab
Cookies and consent
First-party cookies by default; can be configured to run without cookies (their FAQ explains when consent may still be needed) source: matomo.org, opens in a new tab
Website
matomo.org

Checked on 21 October 2026 from each provider’s official pages. Trademarks belong to their owners; quietstats is not affiliated with any of them.

Questions

How does it compare with others?

See the measured script size chart on the compare page.

Related features

All features → · Sitemap →

Try it on your own site

Free for 5,000 pageviews a month, one site, no card. Paid plans from £5.

Start freeSee pricing